close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Databases 

Navigate to: KIDS | TEENS | ADULTS

Databases

Looking to start a business? Get a better grade? Repair a vehicle? These databases include organized, searchable information for use in a variety of research purposes, including personal care, home products and investments. They also provide access to tutoring, training courses and reading materials.

Unless otherwise noted, these databases are free to use in the Library and can be accessed anywhere with your Warrenville Library card and PIN (default is the last 4 digits of your phone number).

  • Academic Search Premiere

    Find full-text journals and articles.

  • America's Obituary and Death Notices

    Search newspaper obituaries and death notices.

  • Ancestry Library Edition

    Access census, military and other vital records as you conduct genealogy research. This resource can only be accessed at the Library. 

  • AtoZ Databases

    Search businesses, individuals, executives and job listings, or create mailing lists and sales leads.

  • Auto Repair Source

    View factory drawings, step-by-step maintenance instructions, technical service bulletins and recalls. 

  • Business Source Premiere

    Find full text articles and searchable cited references for top business journals.

  • Check Illinois from Record Information Services

    Search Illinois public records and perform basic background checks. See Record Information Services for more Illinois public records.

  • Chicago Tribune Historical Archives

    Full-text of historical issues and events from the 1920s to 1984, and obituaries from 1860 to 1984.

  • Consumer Health Complete

    Find information and resources on mainstream, complementary, and holistic medicine.

  • ConsumerReports.org

    Review ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance and travel. 

  • Heritage Quest Online

    Conduct genealogy research by searching for census data, family records and local histories as well as conduct genealogy research.  

  • History Reference Center

    Search the full text of historical reference books, magazines, journals, and primary source documents.

  • Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

    Find how-to instructions and creative ideas in the full-text content from leading hobby and craft magazines.

  • LearningExpress

    Take practice tests to help improve basic skills or prepare for the ACT, SAT, GRE and some professional licensing exams.

  • LinkedIn Learning

    Learn software, design, coding and general business skills at your own pace. Prepare for certification exams and beef up your resume with new marketable skills. This resource is only available to Warrenville Public Library District cardholders.  

  • Literary Reference Center

    Search thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, and author biographies, along with full-text classic literature.

  • Mango Languages

    Learn a new language with this dynamic lesson program focusing on everyday conversational skills and comprehension.

  • MasterFILE Premiere

    Search full-text articles from magazines like Bon Appetit, GQ, National Geographic, and more.

  • Middle Search Plus

    Search a full-text database of middle school magazines and reference books.

  • Newspaper Source Plus

    Search millions of full-text articles and television and radio transcripts from major news sources around the world.

  • NextReads

    Sign up for NextReads to receive free email newsletters of "great reads" for adults, youth and teens.  

  • Novelist K-8 Plus

    Get book recommendations based on other books and authors you already love. Parents can check reading level and age-appropriateness.

  • Novelist Plus

    Find author read-alikes, book discussion guides, book talks and feature articles for more than 150,000 fiction and 50,000 nonfiction titles.

  • Points of View Reference Center

    Research multiple sides of controversial issues.

  • Primary Search Main Edition

    Search the full text of popular children's magazines and encyclopedia entries and explore a vast image collection. Designed for elementary school students.

  • Primary Search Reference eBook Collection

    Search the full text of popular children's magazines and encyclopedia entries and explore a vast image collection. Designed for elementary school students.

  • Read It!

    Find adapted reading material for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading.

  • Record Information Services

    Scroll through public records on new homeowners, new businesses, bankruptcies, foreclosures and sales for Cook, DuPage, DeKalb, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will counties. 

  • ReferenceUSA Business, Healthcare and Residential

    Access directory information on USA businesses of all sizes. Find information on over 850,000 physicians, surgeons and dentists. Search directory information on over 200 million residences by phone number, name or address.

  • Science Reference Center

    Search full text articles from hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias and reference books.

  • Tutor.com

    Connect to a tutor for an on-demand, online tutoring session for K-12 students and introductory college. The Adult Learner section supports those earning their GED, seeking grammar help with their resume and proofreading services. Spanish-speaking tutors are available.

  • Universal Class Library Edition

    Enroll in an online course for work, fun or personal growth. Course topics include exercise and fitness, entrepreneurship, arts and music, home and garden care, cooking, computers and technology, health and medicine, homeschooling, job assistance, law and legal, parenting and family, pet and animal care plus other categories.

  • ValueLine Research Center

    Access Value Line's leading investment publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities. 

  • Vocational & Career Collection

    Search full-text articles from trade and industry-related periodicals.

    • Auto Repair Source

      View factory drawings, step-by-step maintenance instructions, technical service bulletins and recalls. 

    • Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

      Find how-to instructions and creative ideas in the full-text content from leading hobby and craft magazines.

    • Universal Class Library Edition

      Enroll in an online course for work, fun or personal growth. Course topics include exercise and fitness, entrepreneurship, arts and music, home and garden care, cooking, computers and technology, health and medicine, homeschooling, job assistance, law and legal, parenting and family, pet and animal care plus other categories.

    • America's Obituary and Death Notices

      Search newspaper obituaries and death notices.

    • Ancestry Library Edition

      Access census, military and other vital records as you conduct genealogy research. This resource can only be accessed at the Library. 

    • Heritage Quest Online

      Conduct genealogy research by searching for census data, family records and local histories as well as conduct genealogy research.  

    • History Reference Center

      Search the full text of historical reference books, magazines, journals, and primary source documents.

    • Newspaper Source Plus

      Search millions of full-text articles and television and radio transcripts from major news sources around the world.

    • Business Source Premiere

      Find full text articles and searchable cited references for top business journals.

    • ConsumerReports.org

      Review ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance and travel. 

    • ValueLine Research Center

      Access Value Line's leading investment publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities. 

    • Newspaper Source Plus

      Search millions of full-text articles and television and radio transcripts from major news sources around the world.

    • LearningExpress

      Take practice tests to help improve basic skills or prepare for the ACT, SAT, GRE and some professional licensing exams.

    • LinkedIn Learning

      Learn software, design, coding and general business skills at your own pace. Prepare for certification exams and beef up your resume with new marketable skills. This resource is only available to Warrenville Public Library District cardholders.  

    • Mango Languages

      Learn a new language with this dynamic lesson program focusing on everyday conversational skills and comprehension.

    • Tutor.com

      Connect to a tutor for an on-demand, online tutoring session for K-12 students and introductory college. The Adult Learner section supports those earning their GED, seeking grammar help with their resume and proofreading services. Spanish-speaking tutors are available.

    • Universal Class Library Edition

      Enroll in an online course for work, fun or personal growth. Course topics include exercise and fitness, entrepreneurship, arts and music, home and garden care, cooking, computers and technology, health and medicine, homeschooling, job assistance, law and legal, parenting and family, pet and animal care plus other categories.

    • Vocational & Career Collection

      Search full-text articles from trade and industry-related periodicals.

    • Literary Reference Center

      Search thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, and author biographies, along with full-text classic literature.

    • NextReads

      Sign up for NextReads to receive free email newsletters of "great reads" for adults, youth and teens.  

    • Novelist K-8 Plus

      Get book recommendations based on other books and authors you already love. Parents can check reading level and age-appropriateness.

    • Novelist Plus

      Find author read-alikes, book discussion guides, book talks and feature articles for more than 150,000 fiction and 50,000 nonfiction titles.

    • Read It!

      Find adapted reading material for middle and high school students and adults who have a basic foundation in English grammar and reading.

    • LearningExpress

      Take practice tests to help improve basic skills or prepare for the ACT, SAT, GRE and some professional licensing exams.

    • Middle Search Plus

      Search a full-text database of middle school magazines and reference books.

    • Novelist K-8 Plus

      Get book recommendations based on other books and authors you already love. Parents can check reading level and age-appropriateness.

    • Points of View Reference Center

      Research multiple sides of controversial issues.

    • Primary Search Main Edition

      Search the full text of popular children's magazines and encyclopedia entries and explore a vast image collection. Designed for elementary school students.

    • Primary Search Reference eBook Collection

      Search the full text of popular children's magazines and encyclopedia entries and explore a vast image collection. Designed for elementary school students.

    • Tutor.com

      Connect to a tutor for an on-demand, online tutoring session for K-12 students and introductory college. The Adult Learner section supports those earning their GED, seeking grammar help with their resume and proofreading services. Spanish-speaking tutors are available.

Featured Databases

Science Experiment, Anyone?

Science Reference Center

Along with a catalog of 8 million books, audiobooks and movies for every interest, WPLD members now have free access to several new databases through SWAN Library Services.

One new option is Science Reference Center, which has easily searchable magazine and journal articles for children as well as adults, available 24/7. From facts about dinosaur species to a science experiment that requires baking chocolate chip cookies to articles on nuclear physics, there is something for almost everyone in the new Science Reference Center database.

The next time you need science experiments to do at home or a source for a research paper about a scientist, animal or any STEM topic, the Science Reference Center database is a great place to explore!

WPLD library cardholders can access it with their library card account number and PIN at Science Reference Center.

If you have any questions about how to use any of our databases, contact Adult Services at 630/393-1171 x121; adultservices@warrenville.com or Youth Services at 630/393-1171 x124; youthservices@warrenville.com.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Hobbies and Crafts

Introducing Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center, one of several new library databases accessible for free 24/7 to WPLD members from the convenience of home.

The Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center hosts thousands of creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Peruse a multitude of articles by hobby or interest. You have the option to print, save or email the article of your choosing. Whether you enjoy baking, knitting or are interested in homesteading, you will find a wealth of information including full-text articles from leading hobby and craft magazines along with tutorial videos and thousands of recipes. Featured content on the Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center database landing page rotates on a regular basis so you’ll always find something new.

If you have any questions about how to use the Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center database, contact Adult Services at 630/393-1171 x121; adultservices@warrenville.com or Youth Services at 630/393-1171 x124; youthservices@warrenville.com.

universal class

Mango Language